mercoledì, marzo 02, 2005

With the Bee

With the Bee

I was one of the few who were invited with a dialogue with Tony Tancaktiong, the founder of Jollibee. It was an amazing 2 hours where we got to chance to talk to him in an informal setting and ask him questions ranging from the reason behind Jollibee or whether he eats in McDonalds to the social call of Jollibee in the Philippine context. It was very fulfilling and it does give hope that a Filipino brand can conquer the world and be a pop icon as well.

The noticeable characteristic of Mr. Tancaktiong is his humility. He was all smiles during the whole meeting while he answered most of our questions in his Chinese-Filipino accent. It was like seeing the patriarch in Mano Po 2 in person except that he’s really Chinese and he’s really rich. He never talked about his self or his success but he usually talks about other people or whether we are satisfied with what Jollibee offers to us. His HR head, JV was with him and he was the one who shared an anecdote that “would embarrass Tony”. It was about his interview with Mr. Tancaktiong where after the interview, Mr. Tancaktiong asked his secretary Cynthia, “am I a good enough leader for JV?” That’s the essence of leadership that government officials should epitomize and future leaders should keep in mind.

His story is truly an inspiration. He’s not a Filipino by blood but by essence, he is. I feel so privileged to be part of that small group of seniors who met him. One of them commented that he hopes that the same intimate atmosphere can be felt during the March 18 graduation ceremonies where he will deliver a 20-minute speech. And that’s my hope too.

Post Parté Panic

10:30pm. Pagkatapos ng kabaliwan ng event/party/photoshoot/exhibit sa DISH, pagod akong nakarating sa bahay. Bago ako bumaba ng sasakyan, hinanap ko sa tabi kong seat ang digital camera ni AJ. Wala akong makapa. Buksan ang ilaw. Wala ang camera! Hinanap sa may sahig. Wala. (WTF!) Waah! Oh no.. Nagsimulang magpanic. Nasaan na ang camera!

"Camera? Sigurado ka bang may dala kang camera?"
"Oo.."
"Eh di nandiyan lang yon!"
"Pero wala talaga! Nandito lang dapat yon pero wala. Baka nabitawan ko yung camera sa kalsada Mother Ignacia bago sumakay at na-imagine ko lang na ipinatong ko sa tabi ko." (which is kinda huh? pwede ba yon?)

Panic. Panic. Wala talaga. At ang optimismo na 'nandiyan lang yan' ay walang saysay. (Sheds a tear.) Kamuntik ko nang tawagan si AJ

Pero isa pang pagkapa sa ilalim ng front seats at ayan--ang Culture's Campus Shirt Happens pouch na may lamang camera.

Sigaw ng: "Yey! Yeeey!". Mula WTF moment to OMG (I am heartily sorry) moment.

Eye-roll from Tokara (intenionally misspelled). If he knew the term, he'd likely say "Loga-loga!"

Ang nakakatawa ay hindi ako gaanong nag-alala (o dapat ba?) sa ano kayang magiging reaksyon ni AJ. Of course, pagbabayarin niya ako for the camera pero If I know (deep inside), baka matuwa pa si AJ na mawala na sa pag-aari niya ang, sa sarili niyang mga salita, nanlilimahid at nangingitatang camera.

Unless gusto mo pang bilhin yun camera, Ralph.